Australian of the Year

Professor Michelle Yvonne Simmons
Professor in quantum physics

Senior Australian of the Year

Dr Graham Farquhar AO
Prize winning biophysicist

Young Australian of the Year

Samantha Kerr

Local Hero

Eddie Woo
Mathematics teacher

Frequently Asked Questions

Want to learn more? Everything you need to know about how Australia’s most prestigious Awards program works.

Award Recipients

Learn about some of the remarkable Australians recognised by the Awards in previous years.

Tips for Nominating

Give your nominee the best chance of recognition in the Awards and follow these simple tips.

Latest news &


1 June 2018

Nominations close midnight Tuesday 31 July 2018

2018 Australian of the Year Professor Michelle Simmons elected as Royal Society Fellow

10 May 2018

2018 Australian of the Year, Professor Michelle Simmons FRS, has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society (London), the world’s oldest independent scientific academy.

View all news

RT @UNSWScience: What a fantastic night at the Einstein Lecture! Our Dean & president of @ScienceAU Prof @DrEmmaLJohnston & director of @Qu…

15 August 2018 a 11:28am

RT @UNSWScience: Less than 10 mins before The Einstein Lecture begins! @ausoftheyear & our @UNSW scientist Prof Michelle simmons & our Dean…

14 August 2018 a 6:00pm

Who else is tuning in tonight at 6pm for the live stream of The Einstein Lecture by #ausoftheyear and @UNSW scienti…

14 August 2018 a 9:47am

RT @austmathstrust: @SBSNews captured great insight into @ausoftheyear Michelle Simmons as to why STEM is so incredible. #womeninSTEM #sc…

13 August 2018 a 4:36pm

Latest Media