Where is it next?

Learn about the objects of personal significance from the 2019 Award recipients

Award Recipients

Learn about some of the remarkable Australians recognised by the Awards in previous years.

Tips for Nominating

Give your nominee the best chance of recognition in the Awards and follow these simple tips.

Latest news &

Tasmania nominees announced for 60th anniversary of the Australian of the Year Awards

9 October 2019

The nominees for the 2020 Tasmania Australian of the Year Award include a plastics pollution researcher, an anti-slavery advocate and a 94-year-old film and television pioneer.

Nominate now for 60th Australian of the Year Awards

6 June 2019

January 2020 will mark the 60th anniversary of the Australian of the Year Awards, honouring and celebrating great Australians from all walks of life. You can help find the 2020 Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year and Australia’s Local Hero in this significant anniversary year, simply by nominating someone you admire at australianofthyear.org.au by 31 July 2019.

View all news

Celebrating 60 Years! 2009 Australian of the Year Professor Michael Dodson AM was Australia’s first Aboriginal and… https://t.co/m7CLOUDVpb

14 October 2019 a 12:23pm

Celebrating 60 Years! Lee Kernaghan OAM, 2008 Australian of the Year, is a highly successful country music artist.… https://t.co/xpSmLNqF3P

11 October 2019 a 3:46pm

2016 Young #AusoftheYear Nic Marchesi and Lucas Patchett are celebrating the 5th birthday of @OrangeSkyAU - the wor… https://t.co/GWxigBbrzV

11 October 2019 a 2:21pm

Celebrating 60 Years! Professor Tim Flannery – 2007 Australian of the Year – is best known for his internationally… https://t.co/y9pfWYixJ5

10 October 2019 a 4:52pm

Subscribe to our Newsletter