Tasmanian Nominees Announced For 2021 Australian of the Year Awards


The nominees for the 2021 Tasmanian Australian of the Year Awards include charity founders, a marine scientist, advocates for sexual assault victims, youth empowerment and the environment, a festival director and the youngest person to circumnavigate Australia solo by plane.

They are among 16 nominees in the running to be named the state’s Local Hero, Young Australian, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year.

The 2021 Tasmanian award nominees are:


2021 Tasmanian Australian of the Year

                          Dr Madeline Green - Marine scientist and founder of Otlet (Glebe, Hobart)

Dr George Razay - Leading researcher in Dementia and Alzheimer’s disease (Launceston)

Joe & Fiona Riewoldt - Founders of Maddie Riewoldt’s Vision (Elwood, VIC)

Grace Tame - Advocate for survivors of sexual assault and #LetHerSpeak campaigner (Bellerive, Hobart)


2021 Tasmanian Senior Australian of the Year

Derek Benson - Volunteer at City Mission (Norwood)

Nel Smit - Educational leader and sustainability advocate (Taroona, Hobart)

Owen Tilbury - Tasmanian Breath of Fresh Air Festival Director (Launceston)

Brian Williams - Scout leader and mentor (Blackmans Bay, Hobart)


2021 Tasmanian Young Australian of the Year

Robert Bramley - Solo flight record-holder (Kindred)

Rulla Kelly-Mansell - Footballer and founder of Make Runs Maxi (currently based in Glenelg, SA)

Toby Thorpe - Advocate for youth empowerment and climate action (Huonville)

Luke Williams - Founder of Lend A Hand To Hugo (New Town, Hobart)


2021 Tasmanian Local Hero

Toni Johnstone - Team Leader of the Tasmanian Lost Pet Register (Ravenswood, Launceston)

Eva Mackinley - Founder of The Last Straw Australia (Battery Point, Hobart)

Edna Pennicott OAM - Founder of Kingborough Helping Hands (Kingston, Hobart)

Suzanne Smith - Volunteer Ambulance Officer for Ambulance Tasmania (Bellerive, Hobart)


The nominees are among 128 people being recognised across all states and territories as part of the program, which began in 1960.

The awards recipients from Tasmania will be announced in a ceremony co-hosted by Her Excellency Professor the Honourable Kate Warner AC, Governor of Tasmania, and the Honourable Peter Gutwein MP, Premier of Tasmania, at Hobart Town Hall at 1.15pm on Friday 30 October 2020. The ceremony will also be livestreamed via Facebook @AustralianoftheYear.

The Tasmanian award recipients will then join the other state and territory recipients as national finalists for the national awards announcement on 25 January 2021. 

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand said the Tasmanian nominees were a diverse group of people who were committed to their passions. 

“Tasmania has such a wealth of achievers and contributors who are focused on how they can help others or how they can make a mark,” said Ms Brand.

“What an extraordinary group of people, all of whom are an inspiration.”

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit australianoftheyear.org.au.



Nominee bios attached with this media release or can be viewed from australianoftheyear.org.au.

Nominee photos can be downloaded from australianoftheyear.org.au.

Media contact: Nicole Browne 0414 673 762    or     nicole@mediaopps.com.au