Nominees for the 2022 South Australia Australian of the Year Awards Announced





Twitter: @AusoftheYear and #AusoftheYear

Facebook: @AustralianoftheYear


Nominees for the 2022 South Australia Australian of the Year Awards include a hay runner, a Rhino conservationist, an Olympian, a vaccination researcher, a war veteran, a foster carer and a woman who got her community swimming in Marilyn Monroe costumes.

They are among 16 South Australians in the running to be named the state’s Local Hero, Young Australian, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year.

The 2022 South Australia award nominees are:

South Australia Australian of the Year

Professor Helen Marshall - Vaccination researcher (Beaumont, Adelaide)

Phillip de Pinto - Co-founder of Living Without Limits Foundation (Brompton, Adelaide)

Dr Samantha Pillay - Surgeon, entrepreneur, author and educator (Norwood, Adelaide)

Natasha Stott Despoja AO - Gender equality advocate and inaugural Chair of Our Watch (Henley Beach)


South Australia Young Australian of the Year

Kyle Chalmers OAM - Olympic swimming champion (Glenelg)

Dr Trudy Lin - Special Needs Dentistry consultant at Adelaide Dental Hospital (Kensington Park, Adelaide)

Bianca Nilsson - Founder of Renegade Records (Smithfield, Adelaide)

Zoe Simpson - Founder of the Mount Gambier Hay Run (Mount Gambier)


South Australia Senior Australian of the Year

Peter Clark - Director of Monarto Safari Park (Magill, Adelaide)

Bill Denny AM BM - War veteran and RSL South Australia Ambassador (Tranmere, Adelaide)

Dawn Jennings - Foster carer (Modbury Heights)

Mark Le Messurier - Educator, counsellor and author (Adelaide)


South Australia Local Hero

Monique Bareham - President of Lymphoedema Association SA Inc. (Plympton Park, Adelaide)

Anthony Hart - Founder of Invigor Wellbeing (Westbourne Park, Adelaide)

Sarah Tinney - Founder of the Marilyn Jetty Swim (Brighton)

Raelene Wlochowicz - Founder of the Playford Women’s Shed (Smithfield Plains, Adelaide)

*see bios on following pages


The nominees are among 128 people being recognised across all states and territories as part of the program, which began in 1960.

 The four award recipients from South Australia will be announced on the evening of Thursday 21 October 2021 in a ceremony at the Adelaide Convention Centre which will also be available to watch online via livestream.

They will then join the other state and territory recipients as national finalists for the national awards announcement on 25 January 2022.

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand congratulated the South Australian nominees for their contributions.

“The diversity of the South Australia nominees is a great reminder of the variety of ways in which our communities are built and supported,” said Ms Brand.

“All the nominees are to be celebrated for their achievements. “They provide inspiration for others to pursue dreams and give us reason to reflect on how we can all play a part in making a difference.”

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit



Nominee bios on the following pages and can also be viewed from

Nominee photos can be downloaded from this link (note all photos provided by nominees):

Media contact: Nicole Browne 0414 673 762 or