Nominees for the 2022 ACT Australian of the Year Awards Announced




Twitter: @AusoftheYear and #AusoftheYear Facebook: @AustralianoftheYear

Nominees for the 2022 ACT Australian of the Year Awards include a diversity doctor, an inspirational basketballer, a resilient runner, a St Johns Ambulance volunteer, a young woman inspiring girls to run the world and an everyday champion.

They are among 16 ACT residents in the running to be named the ACT Local Hero, Young Australian, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year.

The 2022 ACT award nominees are:

ACT Australian of the Year

Dr Marrwah Ahmadzai - Doctor and diversity advocate (Canberra)
Patrick Mills - Basketball player and Indigenous rights advocate
Dr David O’Rourke OAM - Obstetrician and co-founder of Mother Ignacia Hospital (Canberra) Dr Sam Prince - Doctor and entrepreneur

ACT Young Australian of the Year

Matthew Breen - Founder of Running for Resilience (Canberra) Asha Clementi - Co-founder of The Girls Leadership Network (Canberra) Sean Dondas – Advocate and Youth Leader, CanTeen (Canberra) Jahin Tanvir - Policy adviser and multicultural youth advocate (Harrison)

ACT Senior Australian of the Year

Gregory Aldridge - CEO of EveryMan Australia (Canberra)
Anne Buttsworth PSM - Chair of the Early Morning Centre (Reid)
Valmai Dempsey - Volunteer at St John Ambulance (Canberra)
Julie Tongs OAM - CEO of Winnunga Nimmityjah Aboriginal Health and Community Services (Narrabundah)

ACT Local Hero

Kate Crowhurst - Financial literacy educator (Canberra)
Luke Ferguson - Youth support worker at The Woden School (Canberra) Kelli-Ann (Kelli) Jackson - Group Leader of Women’s Adventure ACT (Canberra) Rob Regent – Founder and Head Coach at Everyday Champions (Canberra)

*see bios on following pages

The nominees are among 129 people being recognised across all states and territories as part of the program, which began in 1960.

The four award recipients from the ACT will be announced in a ceremony on Friday 12 November at the National Gallery of Australia which will also be available to watch online via livestream.

They will then join the other state and territory recipients as national finalists for the national awards announcement on 25 January 2022.

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand congratulated the ACT nominees for their achievements. “The ACT nominees share a commitment to helping and respecting others,” said Ms Brand.
“Even in pursuing their own careers and pathways, they are supporting or showing the way for others. “It’s people such as our ACT nominees who make our world a better place.”

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit