ACT Nominees Announced For 2021 Australian of the Year Awards


ACT Nominees Announced For 2021 Australian of the Year Awards

Twitter: @AusoftheYear and #AusoftheYear
Facebook: @AustralianoftheYear 

The nominees for the 2021 ACT Australian of the Year Awards include an Auslan interpreter, advocates for Aboriginal culture and health, a scientist at the forefront of Australia’s COVID-19 battle, a young Rural Fire Service volunteer and a man turning plastic lids into sustainable products for kids.

They are among 15 ACT residents in the running to be named the state’s Local Hero, Young Australian, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year.

The 2021 ACT award nominees are:

2021 ACT Australian of the Year

Brigadier Alison Creagh AM CSC (Ret’d) – Outstanding Defence Ambassador (Hughes)

Caroline Hughes – Champion of Aboriginal culture (Gowrie)

Professor Brendan Murphy – Former Chief Medical Officer to the Federal Government (Kingston)

Patricia Turner AM – Advocate for Aboriginal health (Isaacs) 

2021 ACT Senior Australian of the Year

Kerry Allen – Educator and mentor (Reid)

Patricia Anderson AO – Writer and advocate for the health of Australia’s First Peoples (Hackett)

Dr David Headon – Historian, writer, TV presenter, cultural expert (Melba)

Bev Orr OAM – Foster carer and community worker (Giralang) 

2021 ACT Young Australian of the Year

Nathan Barnden – Rural Fire Service NSW Volunteer (Kingston)

Tara McClelland – Advocate for the rights of young people (Dickson)

Sarah O’Neill – Volunteer youth worker (Queanbeyan) 

2021 ACT Local Hero

Amanda Dolejsi – ACT’s only certified Auslan interpreter (Greenway)

Timothy Miller – Founder of Lids4Kids (Belconnen)

Chiaka Moneke – Support and advocate for victims of domestic violence (Bonner)

Jessica Peil – Community volunteer (Red Hill) 

The nominees are among 128 people being recognised across all states and territories as part of the program, which began in 1960.

The ACT award recipients will be announced by ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr MLA in a ceremony at the National Gallery of Australia at 6pm on Monday 2 November 2020. The ceremony will also be livestreamed via Facebook @AustralianoftheYear.

The ACT award recipients will then join the other state and territory recipients as national finalists for the national awards announcement on 25 January 2021. 

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand said the ACT nominees shared a common focus on how their actions could help others.

“Whether it’s through advocacy, volunteering, leadership roles or mentoring, the ACT award nominees are all playing a significant role in making a difference in the world,” said Ms Brand. 

“They are incredibly inspiring – and the ACT community can be very proud of them.”