Meet the 2018 State and Territory Recipients

Australian of the Year

Professor Michelle Yvonne Simmons
Professor in quantum physics

Senior Australian of the Year

Dr Catherine Hamlin AC
Pioneering surgeon

Young Australian of the Year

Macinley Butson
Scientist and inventor

Australia's Local Hero

Eddie Woo
Mathematics teacher

Frequently Asked Questions

Want to learn more? Everything you need to know about how Australia’s most prestigious Awards program works.

Award Recipients

Learn about some of the remarkable Australians recognised by the Awards in previous years.

Tips for Nominating

Give your nominee the best chance of recognition in the Awards and follow these simple tips.

Latest news &


9 January 2018

The National Australia Day Council has announced the State and Territory Award recipients who are in the running for the 2018 Australian of the Year Awards, which will be presented at Parliament House in Canberra on the evening of 25 January 2018.

Joint exhibition commemorates 2018 Australian of the Year State and Territory recipients

14 December 2017

The National Museum of Australia and the National Australia Day Council (NADC) today launched an exhibition of personal objects chosen by the eight extraordinary 2018 Australian of the Year State and Territory recipients, which tell us something about their lives, aspirations and experiences.

View all news

Brightening the lives of sick children and their families through the Stella Bella Little Stars Foundation…

17 January 2018 a 5:10pm

“If you have self belief, courage and confidence you are the difference to achieving your dreams” - 2018 #QLD…

16 January 2018 a 7:20pm

A dedicated scientist whose research could improve sustainable farming in a changing climate - Dr Graham Farquhar 2…

15 January 2018 a 5:28pm

Connecting and empowering women to reduce the stigma around women’s health, Kathleen Mazzella 2018 #WA Senior…

12 January 2018 a 4:44pm

Latest Media