Honour roll

The Honour Roll recognises past State and
Territory and National Award recipients

Australian of the Year


2020 WA Australian of the Year Nominee

Dr Sudhakar Rao

State: Western Australia

Surgeon and State Director of Trauma

Dr Sudhakar Rao is a leading Australian trauma surgeon and the Western Australian State Director of Trauma. He has devoted his life to the care of patients suffering traumatic injuries.

He was responsible for planning and implementing the Western Australian trauma service, the second largest of its kind in Australia, and the first to be verified as a Level 1 centre four times – a testament to Sudhakar's strong leadership.

In addition to his work as director of the trauma service at Royal Perth Hospital, Sudhakar is an advocate for road trauma awareness in the media. He successfully lobbied the WA government to make changes ensuring 'no-fault' insurance for road trauma victims with catastrophic injuries, and introduced the Prevent Alcohol and Risk-related Trauma in Youth program as the first Australian program at Royal Perth Hospital.

Dr Rao was in the first-response surgical team to Aceh after the tsunami disaster in 2004, and received an Australian Government Humanitarian Service medal in recognition.


Subscribe to our Newsletter