Honour roll

The Honour Roll recognises past State and
Territory and National Award recipients

Australian of the Year


2020 WA Australian of the Year Nominee

Professor Christobel Saunders AO

State: Western Australia

Cancer surgeon and researcher

Professor Christobel Saunders AO is an internationally renowned cancer surgeon, who has achieved excellence in the male-dominated field of medicine.

Christobel has undertaken over 25 years of cancer research, including clinical trials of new treatments, supportive care, and translational and health-services research. Her outstanding work and advocacy has transformed medical practices, leading to better treatments and improved survival rates for people with cancer.

As a consultant surgeon and a leader in surgical practice and cancer research, Christobel is closely involved in the strategic planning of cancer services and research in Australia. She also serves on numerous Boards and panels of government and community groups.

In 2017, Christobel was named joint WA Premier's Scientist of the Year for her contribution to the betterment of the health of the community. She continues to lead, inspire and mentor the next generation of surgeons, scientists, young women and members of the community.


Subscribe to our Newsletter