Honour roll

The Honour Roll recognises past State and
Territory and National Award recipients

Australian of the Year


2020 SA Australian of the Year Nominee

Dr Sandra Marshall

State: South Australia

Literacy advocate

About 20 per cent of children in Australia are at risk of reading failure – while 39 per cent of 15-year-olds don't meet national standards in reading literacy. In response, Dr Sandra Marshall has made it her life's work to change the nation's literacy outcomes for the better.

The Chairperson of National NFP Charity Code REaD Dyslexia Network, Sandra advocates nationally for evidenced-based reading practices to be mandated in all schools across Australia.

Approaching federal and state education Ministers and other influencers of education, Sandra's advocacy has seen South Australian schools implement the Year One Phonics check – with the Federal Education Minister Dan Tehan proposing to implement the checks nationally.

As a doctor providing mental health support, Sandra knows the terrible impact that illiteracy has on mental health and standard of living – and the valuable role that the right type of intervention can play. Her determined approach to solving our literacy problem has inspired thousands across Australia to join her.


Subscribe to our Newsletter