Honour roll

The Honour Roll recognises past State and
Territory and National Award recipients

Australian of the Year


2020 TAS Australian of the Year Nominee

Dr Britta Denise Hardesty

State: Tasmania

Researcher in plastics pollution

Born in the US and having called all seven continents home, Dr Britta Denise Hardesty now lives in Tasmania. She works as a principal research scientist and team leader with CSIRO's Oceans and Atmosphere. She is a pioneer of plastics pollution – understanding its origins, its movement through the environment, and most importantly, how we can curtail it.

Denise is part of the women's science leadership initiative, Homeward Bound, a global network of women in STEM working to influence policy and decision-making to help the planet. She also leads a portfolio of marine debris projects, helping put Australia in the forefront of the plastics pollution field.

In 2016, Denise led the world's first national survey of plastics pollution, focusing on Australia's coastline. This work won her team the Eureka Prize for Environmental Research.

Passionate about making change to sustain the planet, Denise provides her expert opinion on marine debris to the Federal Government, NGOs and industry stakeholders in Australia and overseas.


Subscribe to our Newsletter