Honour roll

The Honour Roll recognises past State and
Territory and National Award recipients

Young Australian of the Year


2004 WA Young Australian of the Year Nominee

Rafael Niestein

State: Western Australia

Youth Radio Broadcaster

With Western Australia the only state without a youth radio broadcaster, Rafael Niesten set about establishing a youth radio station and applied to the Australian Broadcasting Authority for a license. Rafael's vision was for a station that would inform, empower and entertain young people, and provide a forum to explore and express opinions and ideas. After many months of fundraising and working up to seventeen hour days, on July 2, 2002 Groove 101.7 FM was born. Through Groove FM up to 330 volunteers have had a chance to experience and learn about broadcasting. His commitment, creativity and hard work has made his dream come true and has given Western Australia's youth a voice in the media.

Subscribe to our Newsletter