Honour roll

The Honour Roll recognises past State and
Territory and National Award recipients

Australian of the Year


2013 WA Australian of the Year Nominee

Professor Kim Scott

State: Western Australia


Kim Scott is one of Australia’s greatest writers. A member of the Noongar community, Kim’s novels, poetry and short stories have positioned Noongar culture before the wider Australian and international communities. In 1999, he won Australia’s most prestigious literary award, the Miles Franklin, for his novel Benang: From the Heart – the first Indigenous writer to take out the award. He again won the Miles Franklin in 2011 for That Deadman Dance. In 2012 Kim was awarded his PhD with distinction from the University of Western Australia.  He was also presented with the Indigenous award. Kim is deeply involved in language recovery projects helping to return oral histories and archival language material to their home communities. In particular, he is involved with the Wirlomin Noongar Language and Stories initiative, revitalising traditional stories from the community. As a Professor of Writing at Curtin University, Kim willingly shares his skills, experience and gift for writing with students, staff and outlying communities.  Kim also mentors Indigenous students at the Centre for Aboriginal Studies at Curtin University.