Alumni News Articles


3 August 2010

Australian of the Year Award Nominations close Tuesday 31 August 2010

With the Federal election campaign in full swing, there are only four weeks left in which to have your say about who our other national leaders should be in 2011 – the Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year and Australia’s Local Hero 2011.

The National Australia Day Council relies solely on nominations submitted by the public in its annual search for award recipients and nominations will close on Tuesday 31 August 2010.

The National Australia Day Council’s Tam Johnston said time was running out for people to express their opinion on who should be recognised in the Australian of the Year Awards 2011 and encouraged those thinking of nominating to act now so they don’t miss the deadline.

“As well as remembering to vote this August, I encourage all Australians to take the time to nominate someone for the Australian of the Year Awards as well,” Ms Johnston said.

Ms Johnston said the majority of nominations submitted to date were for everyday Australians who are giving their time and services to the community or people who go the extra mile.

“Our Australians of the Year play an important role in our national life by raising issues that are important to us all and this makes nominating someone for the Awards a powerful action,” said Ms Johnston.

“We’ve received some very high quality nominations for people who are achieving great things and who are truly making a difference in our communities this year.

“Now is the time to tell us who impresses you, and who you would like to see given this unique honour for Australia Day 2011.”

“Nomination forms are still available in Commonwealth Bank branches so be sure to pick one up and get your nomination in before it's too late," said Ralph Norris, Chief Executive Officer of major sponsor, Commonwealth Bank.

Although the great majority of nominations received to date are for quiet achievers, there are also many well known names already submitted, including:
• Moira Kelly (VIC) – Children’s charity leader
• Geoff Huegill (NSW) – Swimmer
• Father Bob McGuire (VIC) – Pastor
• Jessica Watson (QLD) – Solo sailor
• Julian Assange (VIC ) – Wikileaks co-founder
• Ian & Lyn Conway (NT) – Indigenous children’s Foundation
• Kurt Fearnley (NSW) – Wheelchair marathon champion
• Danny Green (WA) – charitable boxer
• Rhonda Burchmore (VIC) – Charitable entertainer
• Andrew Locke (NSW) – World record mountain climber
• Vince Coulthard (SA) – Aboriginal broadcaster
• Steve Monaghetti (VIC) – Marathon legend
• Les Murray (NSW) – Author and poet
• Kym Nguyen (ACT) – Environmental global cyclist
• Craig Jurisevic (SA) – Surgeon and author
• Cadel Evans (VIC) – Cyclist
• Pria Viswalingham (NSW) – Journalist
• Professor Ross Garnault (ACT) – Climate change advocate
• Bob Irwin (QLD) – Wildlife protector
• Ben Waterworth (TAS) – Community minded radio presenter
• Judi Connelli (VIC) – Legendary entertainer
• Justice Michael Kirby (NSW) – Social justice advocate
• Ernie Dingo (WA) – Charitable celebrity
• Michael Leunig (VIC ) – Artistic philosopher
• Terence Tao (SA) - Mathematician
• Maggie Tabberer (NSW) – Fashion icon
• Bart Cummings (VIC) – Horse trainer
• Adam Brand (NSW) – Fundraising country musician

Nominations close 31 August 2010.  

Nominations will then be judged in each of the four categories at State and Territory level.  Award recipients in each State and Territory will be announced at events in capital cities throughout November.  All State and Territory award recipients will then be judged for the national awards and invited to attend the Australian of the Year Awards 2011 to be announced in Canberra on 25 January 2011 (the eve of Australia Day 2011).

Click here to make your nomination.

Subscribe to our Newsletter