Alumni News Articles

Western Australian Award Recipients Announced

27 November 2006

Two Nobel Laureates, a fundraising GP, an innovative engineer changing disabled lives, a health campaigner and a man who single handedly saved his home town were yesterday announced as the Western Australian recipients in the 2007 Australian of the Year Awards.

The Governor of Western Australia, Dr Ken Michael AC, announced the award recipients at a special event at Government House, congratulating all WA finalists and nominees in this year's awards program for their outstanding contributions and achievements.

Award recipients are:

Australian of the Year - Prof. Barry Marshall & Emeritus Prof. Robin Warren
Senior Australian of the Year - Dr Kenneth Collins AM
Young Australian of the Year - Darren Lomman
Local Hero (Metropolitan) - Yvonne Bali
Local Hero (Regional) - James Hamersley

To learn more about this year's award recipients, you can read the latest media releases or check out their biographies online. Other state award recipients will be announced in the next two weeks.

Watch this website for more information as the announcements take place.

Subscribe to our Newsletter