Alumni News Articles

State and Territory Finalists Announced

9 November 2006

State & Territory Finalists for Australian of the Year Awards 2007 Announced

State and Territory finalists for the Australian of the Year Awards 2007 were announced today and include people who have been nominated for their humanitarian work, community commitments, animal welfare advocacy, philanthropic efforts, women's advocacy, sporting endeavours, indigenous community support, environmental work and volunteering efforts.

Ms Tam Johnston, National Manager of the Australian of the Year Awards, said the quality of nominations received this year was outstanding.

"The breadth and diversity of the nominations this year was amazing, truly reflecting the extraordinary achievements and contributions made by Australians each year," said Ms Johnston.

State and Territory finalists include community achievers such as Stasia Dobrowski (ACT) for her work supporting the homeless, international aid leader Phoebe Williams (NSW), volunteer Mary Ehn (NT), humanitarian Norma McRae (QLD), community stalwart Roy Stubberfield (SA), grandparenting advocate Narelle Patterson (TAS), special Olympics supporter Aaron Hewitt (WA) and charity busker Joss Tonkin (NT).

Scientist and environmentalist Dr Tim Flannery (NSW) joins other wildlife and environment workers such as Tasmanian Aquaculture researcher Prof Nigel Forteath AM (TAS) and Australian forest and fire management expert Prof David Bowman (NT) in the finals.

Social justice advocates are well represented among the finalists by Asbestos victims' leader Bernie Banton AM (NSW) and NT Crown Prosecutor Nanette Rogers (NT)

Paralympian and Speed-Ski World Record Holder Michael Milton OAM (ACT), Wallabies Captain George Gregan AO (ACT) and Golfer Jarrod Lyle (VIC) have also been nominated for their achievements on and off the sporting stage. Michael Milton's extraordinary performances on one ski have inspired many, as has Jarrod Lyle's determination to achieve his dream and help others after overcoming cancer.

Young Australians include Muslim leader Iktimal Hage-Ali (NSW), who has been selected as a finalist for her work establishing positive relationships between the Muslim and non-Muslim communities while Shasheen Jayawerra (NSW) has been recognised for co-founding a network of youth organisations for sustainable futures across the Pacific.

Other finalists include medical leaders Prof Barry Marshall and Emeritus Professor Robin Warren (WA), indigenous education advocate Dr Kaye Price (ACT), visionary Gabi Hollows (NSW), artistic leader Stephen Page (NSW), composer Emeritus Professor Peter Sculthorpe AO OBE (NSW), children's services founder and fundraiser Ken Morgan (VIC), philanthropist Dame Elizabeth Murdoch AC DBE (VIC), business leader and philanthropist Janet Holmes á Court AO (WA).

State and Territory Award recipients for each category as well as the Regional and Metropolitan Local Heroes of the Year will be announced at ceremonies in each capital city throughout November and early December.

Recipients in each category then become national finalists for the Australian of the Year Awards to be announced on the lawns of Parliament House in Canberra on January 25, 2007.

For more information, check out the full list of finalists, or you can read their biographies online.

Subscribe to our Newsletter