Alumni News Articles

South Australian Award Recipients Announced

6 December 2006

State and Territory finalists for the South Australian Australian of the Year Awards 2007 were announced yesterday and include people who have been nominated for their sporting endeavours, education advocacy, disability support services, mathematical genius and being an inclusive art pioneer.

The Governor of South Australia, Her Excellency Majorie Jackson-Nelson AC CVO MBE, announced the award recipients at a special event in Adelaide, congratulating all the South Australian finalists for their achievements and contributions to the community.

Award recipients are:

Australian of the Year - Professor Terence Tao
Senior Australian of the Year - Phillip Herreen
Young Australian of the Year - Laura Long
Local Hero (Metropolitan) - Pat Rix
Local Hero (Regional) - Wendy Gambling

To learn more about this year's award recipients, you can read the latest media releases or check out their biographies online.

Watch this website for more information as the national announcement takes place on January 25th.

Subscribe to our Newsletter