Alumni News Articles

Nominations Now Open for Australian of the Year Awards 2011

24 June 2010

Nominations for the Australian of the Year Awards 2011 are now open and all Australians are being encouraged to nominate the people they find inspiring for Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year and Australia’s Local Hero.

National Australia Day Council Acting Chair Shelly Reys today opened the call for nominations, urging Australians young and old to have their say on who they admire, and who should be recognised with an award.

“The Australian of the Year Awards is the public’s opportunity to have a say in who should be honoured – the awards rely solely on public nominations to identify the people worthy of consideration,” said Ms Reys.

“Now is the time to have your say on who you think represents the best of Australian values, who is doing great things and who makes you proud to be Australian.”

Australian of the Year 2010, Professor Patrick McGorry, supported the call for nominations saying he was grateful for his nomination and the recognition it brought.

“I am still humbled by the honour given to me as Australian of the Year 2010 and the opportunities it has already given me this year to meet other everyday Australians all around the country who are contributing to making our nation a better place, especially young people,” said Professor McGorry.

“I feel very strongly that we should all nominate someone for the awards to acknowledge the many who make a difference in our society.

“If others had not submitted a nomination for me, I would not have been given this great honour.

“I encourage everyone to take a few minutes to complete a nomination form for someone who could be the next Australian of the Year.”

The Commonwealth Bank has been the major sponsor of the Australian of the Year Awards for over
30 years, and throughout the nomination period distributes nomination forms through over 1000 Commonwealth Bank branches.

“Each year, hundreds of Australians visit Commonwealth Bank branches to collect a nomination form to nominate someone in their community who makes them proud to be Australian," said Ralph Norris, Chief Executive Officer, Commonwealth Bank.

"Nominating someone who makes extraordinary contributions to your community is a great way to say thanks to those who do so much."

There are four categories in the awards:
• Australian of the Year
• Senior Australian of the Year (60 years and over)
• Young Australian of the Year (16 - 30 years)
• Australia’s Local Hero

To nominate online click here. Alternatively, pick up a form from major sponsor, the Commonwealth Bank or call 1300 655 193 for more information.  Nominations close 31 August 2010.

Subscribe to our Newsletter