Alumni News Articles


21 July 2017

The National Australia Day Council (NADC) welcomes Ms Danielle Roche OAM as the new Chair of the organisation.

Ms Roche brings her significant commercial and financial business experience combined with sports administration management to the NADC Board.  Ms Roche is a Senior Investment Advisor with Ord Minnett, is on the Board of the Australian Sports Commission, is a Trustee of the State Sport Centres Trust of Victoria and a Director of St Kilda Football Club. Ms Roche was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia in 1997 for her service to sport.

Representing Australia in women’s hockey from 1986 until 1997, Ms Roche was part of the gold medal winning Australian Women’s Hockey team at the 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games.

“Some of my fondest memories are of representing Australia in international competition. Being an Olympian is an honour; being an Australian Olympian is something of which I am and always will be incredibly proud,” said Ms Roche. 

“I look forward to continuing the important work of the Council. Australia Day is a time to celebrate who we are as a nation and the things that unite us: our inclusiveness, our diversity and our shared values. 

“It is also a time for us to recognise the outstanding contributions that everyday Australians make to our nation which we do through the Australian of the Year Awards; people who in the simple act of doing what they do – at home, at work and in the community – help make Australia the wonderful place it is.

“I encourage anyone who knows an extraordinary Australian to nominate them for the Awards. Nominations close 6 August 2017 so make sure you nominate so their contribution can be recognised and celebrated.”

National Australia Day Council Chief Executive Officer Mr Chris Kirby welcomed the appointment of Ms Roche. Ms Roche replaces Mr Ben Roberts-Smith VC MG, who chaired the NADC for three years.

Mr Kirby also welcomed the return of Board members Ms Robbie Sefton (Deputy Chair) and Mr Norman Schueler OAM, as well as the new appointment of Ms Jane McNamara.

The NADC is a not-for-profit government-owned company which leads a network of state, territory and local committees in presenting Australia Day celebrations and the Australian of the Year Awards program.  


For all media enquiries regarding the National Australia Day Council and the

Australian of the Year Awards contact:

Nicole Browne (02) 9954 7677   or    0414 673 762   or

Background Notes:

The National Australia Day Council Limited (76 050 300 626) is the coordinating body for Australia Day celebrations across the nation and for the Australian of the Year Awards.

A not-for-profit government owned social enterprise, within the Prime Minister's portfolio responsibilities, NADC has a close working relationship with the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and reports to the Commonwealth Parliament under the provisions of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act (2013). The operations of the company are overseen by a board of Directors appointed by the Prime Minister.

Since the National Australia Day Council was incorporated on 25 October 1990, the role of Chair of the National Australia Day Council has been held by:

  • Ben Roberts-Smith VC MG, 2014 - 2017

  • Adam Gilchrist, 2008 - 2014

  • Lisa Curry Kenny, 2000 - 2008

  • Kevan Gosper, 1996 - 2000

  • Phillip Adams, 1992 - 1996

  • John Newcombe, 1990 - 1992

The current Board of the National Australia Day Council is:

  • Ms Robbie Sefton (Deputy Chair), Director – Sefton & Associates

  • Richard Rolfe (Chair, Audit and Assurance Committee), Dealer Principal of Audi Centre Canberra

  • Janet Whiting, Lawyer

  • Ms Elizabeth Kelly, Deputy Secretary, Governance – Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

  • Jason Glanville, Founding Director at Atlantic Fellows for Social Equity Program

  • Norman Schueler OAM, Businessman and multicultural leader

  • Dr Susan Alberti AO, Chairman, Susan Alberti Medical Research Foundation

  • Ms Jane McNamara, Flinders Shire Council Mayor

Subscribe to our Newsletter