Alumni News Articles

NADC Chairman and CEO recognised in Queen's Birthday Honours

15 June 2010

Congratulations to NADC Chairman Adam Gilchrist and NADC Chief Executive Officer Warren Pearson who were both appointed Members of the Order of Australia (AM) in the Queen’s Birthday honours.

Mr Gilchrist was recognised for service to cricket as a player, and to the community as a supporter of a range of charitable organisations. He has been Chairman of the National Australia Day Council since 2008 and is a patron of several charitable organisations including Ronald McDonald House and the LBW Trust.

Mr Pearson was recognised for service to the community through leadership roles with the National Australia Day Council, to the promotion of the celebration of the Australian identity and citizenship, and to reconciliation.  He has been Chief Executive Officer of the National Australia Day Council since 2001 and is the Current Chair of the Coordination Committee for Australia Day in the National Capital. Mr Pearson was a member of the Department of Immigration and Citizenship’s Citizenship Test Review Committee in 2008.

Among the 486 Australians honoured on the weekend was Australian of the Year 2010 Professor Patrick McGorry, who was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for his service to medicine and mental health.

The National Australia Day Council also congratulates the following past Australian of the Year Award finalists who were recognised as part of the 2010 Queen’s Birthday Honours.
• Captain Paul Moulds AM
• Ms Annette Peardon AM
• Dr Peter Sharp AM
• Mrs Valerie Taylor AM
• Mr Barry Barnes OAM
• Mr Michael Meehan OAM (deceased)
• Mrs Hiskelina Thorpe OAM

Subscribe to our Newsletter