Alumni News Articles

Celebrating 50 years of great Australians

15 July 2009

In 2010, the Australian of the Year Awards celebrate 50 years of honouring great Australians. 

Each year, on Australia Day Eve the recipients of the Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year and Australia’s Local Hero Award are announced.  Nominations for the Australian of the Year Awards 2010 are now open and you have the opportunity to nominate an Australian who makes you proud.

Over the years many inspirational Australians working in different fields have received the Award. In the field of science Australia recognised Professor Ian Frazer; Professor Fred Hollows and Dr Fiona Wood were recognised for their contributions to medicine. Robert de Castella and Cathy Freeman were honoured for their achievements in their chosen sport while Ian Kiernan and Professor Tim Flannery received the Award for their work campaigning for the environment. Many Australians such as Trisha Broadbridge and Shanaka Fernando have also made a difference in their communities through charity work.

In all, 100 Australians have been recognised for their achievements. Who do you think deserves to receive the Award in 2010? Have your say at

The person you nominate could join the eminent list of those outstanding Australians who have been honoured previously. To read stories of past Award recipients click here.



Subscribe to our Newsletter