Alumni News Articles

Australians of the Year 1960-2010 by Wendy Lewis

22 November 2010

A new book celebrating 50 years of the Australian of the Year Awards will be launched on 26 November 2010.

Titled Australians of the Year 1960-2010 by Wendy Lewis, the book tells the stories of the recipients of this distinguished award. 

From the first recipient fifty years ago, medical biologist Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnett, to 2010 recipient Patrick McGorry, Australians of the Year celebrates this milestone by taking a close look at the lives and achievements of each of these talented and admirable recipients.

Among a fascinating collection of scientists, sportspeople, entertainers, leaders, doctors, soldiers and environmentalists you will meet war hero Sir Ernest Edward ‘Weary’ Dunlop, who played rugby for the Wallabies; and athlete Cathy Freeman who started running laps barefoot around her local athletics track at the age of six.

With message from the Governor-General, Her Excellency Ms Quentin Bryce AC and foreword from Chair of the National Australia Day Council, Adam Gilchrist AM, this book reveals role models that we can indeed be proud of and will perhaps inspire future Australians of the Year; Adam writing that ‘every one of our Australians of the Year started out by admiring someone who had gone before them’

Available at book retailers across the nation for $39.95.

Subscribe to our Newsletter