Alumni News Articles

Australian of the Year Awards 2011 - State and Territory finalists announced

5 November 2010

State and Territory finalists for the 2011 Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year and Australia’s Local Hero awards were announced today.

Award recipients will be announced at events to be held in every state or territory capital throughout November. All State and Territory award recipients will then become finalists for the national awards, which will be announced on 25 January 2011 in Canberra.

Among the state and territory finalists for Australian of the Year are musician Richard Tognetti (NSW), Indigenous rights advocate Vince Coulthard (SA), soprano Deborah Cheetham (VIC), breast cancer survivor and fundraiser Deborah De Williams (TAS) and higher education leader Professor Ian Chubb (ACT). 

The Senior Australian of the Year state and territory finalists include horse trainer Bart Cummings (NSW), priest Father Bob Maguire (VIC), rural men’s health campaigner Julian Krieg (WA) and community leader Koolpinyah Barnes (NT). 

State and territory finalists for Young Australian of the Year include stem cell scientist Dr David Nisbet (VIC), climate change activist Kim Nguyen (ACT), sailor Jessica Watson (QLD) and skin cancer survivor Clinton Heal (WA). 

The Local Hero state and territory finalists include suicide prevention advocate Donald Ritchie OAM (NSW), community peace-keeper Travis Lupton (WA), multiculturalism champion Waleed Aly (VIC) and rural doctor Don Bowley (QLD). 

More than 2,400 nominations were submitted by the Australian public for the 2011 awards, recognising quiet achievers, community heroes and well known Australians for their inspiring contributions.

National Australia Day Council Program Director Ms Tam Johnston said this year’s state and territory award finalists were all contributing to making a difference.

“Whether it’s at a local community level or on the national or international stage, the state and territory award finalists’ achievements or contributions are making an impact,” said Ms Johnston.

“To be nominated in the awards is a great honour and all the state and territory finalists are worthy of the acknowledgement and thanks of their fellow Australians.”

Ralph Norris, CEO Commonwealth Bank, offered his congratulations to all the state and territory finalists. The Commonwealth Bank has been the major sponsor of the Australian of the Year Awards for more than 30 years.

 “On behalf of the Commonwealth Bank, I would like to congratulate all the state and territory Awards finalists, your contribution to the Australian community is an inspiration to us all,” said Mr Norris.

State and Territory award presentations will be held on the following dates:

South Australia - Wednesday 10 November 2010, Adelaide
Northern Territory - Thursday 11 November 2010, Darwin
Victoria - Monday 15 November 2010, Melbourne
Tasmania -Wednesday 17 November 2010, Hobart
Queensland - Thursday 18 November 2010, Brisbane
Western Australia - Saturday 20 November 2010, Perth
Australian Capital Territory - Tuesday 23 November 2010, Canberra
New South Wales - Thursday 25 November 2010, Sydney

For more details on all finalists, click here.

Subscribe to our Newsletter