Alumni News Articles

2016 National finalists announced

24 November 2015


The extraordinary group of inspiring Australians in the running for the 2016 Australian of the Year Awards is now finalised, with all State & Territory Award recipients announced at a series of events around Australia over the past three weeks.

The finalists include leaders in human rights, individuals working in science, health, medicine, arts and culture, who come from far and wide around Australia including places such as Cooktown, Queenstown, Alice Springs and Esperance.

"Nominated by members of the public, the 2016 Australian of the Year Awards national finalists demonstrate the sentiments that Australians currently hold in high esteem. Whilst there are a range of issues that the finalists are dedicated to and championing, many of them are reaching out to those in need,” said Jeremy Lasek, CEO of the National Australia Day Council.

“We have seen a particularly strong focus on those helping people affected by social issues such as homelessness, family violence and drug and alcohol abuse amongst the finalists’ work this year.

“It is inspiring to see that many Australians value those who commit their time, resources and energy to helping those less fortunate.

"The national finalists for the 2016 Australian of the Year Awards are an extraordinary group of Australians who all show outstanding commitment to making our nation and the world a better place." 

State & Territory Award recipients in the four Award categories - Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year and Australia's Local Hero - are now national finalists for the Awards which will be announced in Canberra on 25 January 2016.

Those now in consideration for the national Awards are:



New South Wales - Elizabeth Broderick

Victoria - Julian McMahon

Queensland - Catherine McGregor AM

Western Australia - Anne Carey

South Australia - Dr John Greenwood AM

Tasmania - Jane Hutchinson

Australian Capital Territory - David Morrison AO

Northern Territory - Will MacGregor



New South Wales - Professor Gordian Fulde

Victoria - Jack Charles

Queensland - Tim Fairfax AC

Western Australia - Graham Edwards AM

South Australia - Monica Oliphant AO

Tasmania - Professor Ian Allison AO AAM

Australian Capital Territory - Professor Greg Tegart AM FTSE

Northern Territory - Bob Shewring



New South Wales - Melissa Abu-Gazaleh

Victoria - Robert Gillies

Queensland - Nic Marchesi and Lucas Patchett

Western Australia - Catherine Hughes

South Australia - Arman Abrahimzadeh

Tasmania - Zac Lockhart

Australian Capital Territory - Nipuni Wijewickrema

Northern Territory - Benjamin Masters



New South Wales - Dr Catherine Keenan

Victoria - Rebecca Scott

Queensland - Michael Ross

Western Australia - Dr Stephen Langford

South Australia - Claire Foord

Tasmania - Raymond Arnold

Australian Capital Territory - Peter Cursley

Northern Territory - David Taylor


For more than 36 years, the Commonwealth Bank has been a proud sponsor of the Australian of the Year Awards. Commonwealth Bank Chief Executive Officer, Ian Narev, congratulated all of the Award recipients.

“Congratulations to the Award recipients on being named national finalists in the Australian of the Year Awards. We recognise their inspirational contribution to our community and wish them well for the national Awards,” said Mr Narev.

The announcement of the 2016 Australian of the Year Awards will be held on the lawns outside Parliament House in Canberra on Monday 25 January 2016.

For more information on each of the finalists visit the Honour Roll. A full list of finalists and recipients recognised in the 2016 Awards can be viewed here.

Subscribe to our Newsletter