Alumni News Articles

2008 Beijing Olympic Torch Relay

17 April 2008

2008 Beijing Olympic Torch2008 Australian of the Year Award recipients Lee Kernaghan, David Bussau and Jonathon Welch have been named as torch bearers in the 2008 Beijing Olympic torch relay when it passes through Canberra on April 24.

Lee Kernaghan said "To me running with the torch is all about supporting our Australian team and acknowledging the incredible efforts they have made over many years to represent our country at the highest level.

"Despite the rights and wrongs of this world, my hope is that the Olympic spirit will continue to unite people and countries now and in the years to come"

You can share the excitement when the flame is ignited in Australia at an impressive ceremony at Reconciliation Place on the shores of Lake Burley Griffin. Following a traditional Welcome to Country, the first Australian torch of the Bejing 2008 Olympic Torch Relay will be lit. The torch will then commence its journey around the national capital.

Other runners sharing this wonderful experience include former Australians of the Year Dr Fiona Wood, Dr Fiona Stanley, Professor Ian Frazer, Robert De Castella and Young Australian of the Year 2007 Tania Major.

Subscribe to our Newsletter